Excellence in Craft

The Excellence In Craft competition offers members an opportunity to receive special recognition for journalism excellence. Submissions must be outdoor oriented. Thanks to the generosity of Mossy Oak, the EIC competition offers a prize structure of $250, $150 and $100 for first, second and third places, respectively. Associate, apprentice and student members are not eligible for participation. General entry rules and category descriptions are available to members by clicking here.


Sharon Rushton Award

The Sharon Rushton Award was initiated by the American Sportfishing Association (ASA) to recognize excellence in writing for and about youth in the outdoors. The award, now sponsored by Daisy/Gamo Outdoor Products, commemorates the dedication Sharon Rushton showed to the outdoors, particularly through her work with the “Hooked On Fishing, Not On Drugs” program. General entry rules and special instructions are available to members by clicking here.

Conference Site Story

Any print or broadcast story that promotes the conference area and/or state in which a designated previous conference was held is eligible for the Conference Site Story competition. EIC general rules apply. Members may click here.

Realtree Website Award

Bill Jordon’s Realtree has supported SEOPA members for decades. The company currently sponsors the Website award with a payout of $500, $250 and $150, for first through third places, respectively. Sites are judged in three main areas:  content, ease of navigation and layout/graphics. Members click here.


Industry Public Relations Program (Corporate Members Only)

Any public relations program designed to inform the public or service a member of the outdoor media, featuring outdoor subjects and produced between the contest dates. Entries may include press kits, brochures, photo catalogs, computer offerings, special events, broadcast programs or publications. Advertising campaigns are not eligible. Corporate members may access the instructions and entry form here.