October 25, 2019

SEOPA Announces Winners of 2019 Excellence in Craft, Special Awards

OXFORD, Miss. — The best work of the nation’s brightest outdoor communicators was recognized with the 2019 Excellence in Craft awards at the 55th Southeastern Outdoor Press  Association conference Thursday.
The awards, sponsored by Mossy Oak, celebrate the best among the SEOPA members’ works of the previous year across the full spectrum of online, print, video and audio media.

“SEOPA’s Best in Craft contest recognizes the best work from its members in outdoors media world,” said Mike Giles, second vice president and EIC chairman. “The association’s members include some of the most outstanding anglers, hunters, and talented media members who display their talents on a daily basis through all phases of the media, including video, audio, photography and youth mentorship.”

Judges included outdoor communicators, mainstream journalists, anglers, hunters and professionals who've dedicated their lives to mentoring youngsters in the outdoors and spreading our outdoors heritage.

“It is Mossy Oak’s honor to be the presenting sponsor of these awards, because our company’s beginnings relied heavily on their help, Toxey Haas, Mossy Oak founder and CEO said, “and their work is critical to our traditions’ future.”

Whit Gibbons won the Sharon Ruston Award, which recognizes the best communication work related to mentoring and encouraging youngsters in the outdoors. Brandon Butler placed first in the Audio Project, Electronic Publishing, and weekly newspaper categories. Mike Giles claimed top prize in the Outdoor Entrepreneurial Project Category for his promotion of “The Old Pro Turkey Hunter” revised edition.

Other first place winners included Timney Triggers, for Industry Public Relations, Josh Honeycutt, for Video Project, and Pete Rogers for Outdoor Book category. Keith Sutton won the Daily Newspaper category, and Paul Brown took top honors in Photography. Allan Houston placed first in the Magazine Short category and Jim Spencer won the Magazine category. Polly Dean took top honors in the Kentucky Conference Site Story and Richard Simms won first place for the Florence, South Carolina Conference Site Story. Ken Perrotte won the Realtree Website Award. For a complete list of winners or to learn more about SEOPA, visit SEOPA Award Winners.